Santa Fe

Posted on August 21, 2011

0



A trip to Santa Fe…or a wrong turn at Albuquerque

You decide.

Every once in a while I get tired of my day job creeping into my weekends.  It seems like every weekend my phone rings at least once.  Well, two weekends ago, I did the unthinkable.  I TURNED MY PHONE OFF.  (Insert dramatic gasp here.)  We all decided that we were going to Santa Fe for the weekend since it is only a few hours drive from Lubbock.  My wife says it’s supposed to rain the whole weekend, so it should be great…lol I love my wife.  So, Saturday, we get up and go…me, the wife, the kids, and the dogs.  We get to Santa Fe and walk around for a bit, but it is drizzling pretty steadily.  My wife…did I mention I love her…suggests that we pile back in the car and take Rt 4 through the mountains near Los Alamos and the Bandolier National Monument so that “we” could take some awesome photos.  She forgot to mention that it takes several hours to drive the loop all the way back to Santa Fe.  In fact at one point we were only 30 min from Albuquerque…maybe next time we will stop there too.  So, we saw some cool scenes and everyone was super nice and patient while I acted like a 5 year old on Christmas morning.  Every turn of the road brought a new and better scene than the last.  There was greenery, rain, fire, and ashes.  Incredible!  Sadly, in my excitement of playing in the rain on the side of the mountains, I made some critical exposure errors on a good many shots.  Most I can fix in post processing, but that goes against my personal goal of getting the shot right in the camera.  Anyway, next time I will try to keep my senses about me.  We drove a mile or so and stopped…another mile and stopped…I know that everyone was ready to keep going, but like I said, the family was very accommodating.  Thanks Guys!!  Anyway, without further ado, here are some of the amazing shots from the trip. I may have to make this a 2 part series.

This first shot is a creek near the Jemez Springs:

Creek Near Jemez Springs by Adam Tillman (AdamTillman)) on 500px.com
Creek Near Jemez Springs by Adam Tillman
Aspens near the Bandolier Monument by Adam Tillman (AdamTillman)) on 500px.com
Aspens near the Bandolier Monument by Adam Tillman

This shot is an alternate view of the creek valley in the first shot

Creek Valley by Adam Tillman (AdamTillman)) on 500px.com
Creek Valley by Adam Tillman

This last shot is of more Aspens.  I love the light colored bark with the black marks.  I intend to return to this spot during the fall for some crazy fall foliage pics.

Aspens in Summer by Adam Tillman (AdamTillman)) on 500px.com
Aspens in Summer by Adam Tillman

Posted in: Uncategorized