Where Frogs Fear To Tread

Posted on July 31, 2011

3



On a recent trip to the International Water Lily Collection in San Angelo, I was able to grab some really great shots.  Unfortunately, in their quest to inform the public on the names of the different waterlilies, there are name tags on little poles all over the place.  This makes for some very difficult photo shots.  Fortunately, I was able to get a few great shots. This first shot is my personal favorite.  I love the single white flower that offsets the burst of orange lilypads and the purple flowers in the upper left corner.  The green lilypads really pop on the mostly black water, but the water still has depth and reflections…very dynamic in my opinion.  Click on the picture for the full version at 500px.

I think this second image is nice since it really shows a lot of  depth of field and a nice range of color without being too busy.  I like that I can see the texture of the lilypads.  I also like the contrast of the colorful open flower and the all black new bud.  As with the first image, click on the picture for the full res version at 500px.

Thanks for viewing.  Please leave a comment here or on 500px.com/adamtillman.  Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @TravelingAdam.

