Quest for “Real” HDR Continued

Posted on July 22, 2011

1



After a great comment by @hdrtist on my last version of the “Stormy Sunflower“, I went back to the drawing board.  Since the original shot was cropped so tightly, I had to change things up a bit.  I kept the sunflower as it was and concentrated on the background.  I tried to manipulate the stormy sky through further tonemapping, and GIMP manipulations and was successful in getting the contrast and the “look” that I was after.  However, I could not add room to the top of the photo and make it look natural.  Instead, I chose to use another shot of the same sky so that I could “add some headroom” as suggested.  I also cleaned up the details on the sunflower at the “Pixel Peeper” level…something I should’ve done the first time.  I also adopted the Square Crop, but kept the sunflower offset to the right for effect.  Here is the final result.  I hope you enjoy it.  As always, your feedback is helpful.

 

