Here’s Looking At You, Kid

Posted on June 16, 2011

1



Recently, I went to the Abilene Zoo with the family and decided to limit myself to just one lens.  I decided on my Tokina 100mm f/2.8 ATX Pro Macro.  I hated this lens at first since it will not autofocus with my D5000, but…I upgraded my D5000 with a KatzEye focusing screen so that I could tell when I was focused.  Now, I love my 100mm and love my D5000 more since upgrading the focusing screen.  Anyway, the point is that this short telephoto lens limits the view, but in this case, really helps create some interesting perspectives.  This time I focused on the eyes instead of the entire animal.

These shots obviously inspired the title of this blog, but also showcase the importance of  sharp eyes.

The first is the Veiled Gecko.

 

 

This second shot is of a Cayman…closely related to a croc or alligator.

 

 

Lastly is a snake that I cannot recall the name of.

 

 

I encourage everyone to try your hand at “Zoo Photography.”  It can yield very rewarding results.  With the right crop and composition, the photos will not look like Zoo photos, but more like nature photos.  Happy Shooting!

Posted in: Macro, Nature, Photography